Becoming A Member

Join the Lakota Federal Credit Union

By opening a Share Account (savings account) at the Lakota Federal Credit Union, you become a member and are eligible to apply for all products and services. Opening an account is easy and only takes two simple steps:

    1. Bring a federally recognized form of identification (i.e. – Tribal ID, state issued driver’s license, state issued identification card, or military ID) to the Lakota Federal Credit Union office.
    2. Open your account with as little as $5.00.


Can’t make it to our Kyle branch?

Visit the Rolling Rez unit at one of its many stops throughout the Reservation. We offer all of our regular services on this unique mobile unit. Find out when we’ll make a stop near you!



If you can’t make it into our office to open an account, it is possible to join via mail, email, or fax. Just contact us first to ensure you qualify for membership, and we can provide you instructions on how to submit the documents required for opening an account along with your first deposit.


Membership Requirements

Membership to the Lakota Federal Credit Union is open to persons who live, work (or regularly conduct business in), worship, attend school in, participate in associations headquartered in, or participate in programs to alleviate poverty or distress which are located in, and incorporated or unincorporated organizations located in the tribal lands of Jackson County and all of Oglala Lakota, Bennett, Todd, Mellette, Trip, or Gregory Counties in South Dakota.


Download a membership application